

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 17

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Fourth Session

Twenty-Ninth Legislature

Monday, April 16, 2018

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

Members' Statements

Ms Luff, Hon. Member for Calgary-East, made a statement recognizing Nadia El Dibs, a 22-year-old woman who on March 25, 2018, was murdered by a man she knew, and regarding her family's hope that her death will bring awareness to the issue of violence against women.

Mr. Panda, Hon. Member for Calgary-Foothills, made a statement regarding the constitutional and economic crisis concerning the Trans Mountain Pipeline expansion and suggestions identified by the Official Opposition in order to clear political hurdles to getting the pipeline built.

Dr. Turner, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Whitemud, made a statement regarding Logan Boulet, a member of the Humboldt Broncos hockey team killed in a collision on April 6, 2018, who, by registering as an organ and tissue donor, prompted a massive increase in Albertans registering as donors, and regarding Revée Agyepong, the first adult in Canada to be cured of sickle cell anemia by stem cell donation.

Mr. Schneider, Hon. Member for Little Bow, made a statement regarding how some opposition policies have been taken up by the Government and have engaged media and political commentary.

Mr. Malkinson, Hon. Member for Calgary-Currie, made a statement regarding support from Albertans and the Government for Henson Trust legislation in Alberta.

Mr. Orr, Hon. Member for Lacombe-Ponoka, made a statement regarding the Lacombe Generals and the Stoney Creek Generals AAA men's hockey teams who participated in the Allan Cup hockey championship held in Rosetown, Saskatchewan, from April 9 to 14, 2018.

Introduction of Bills (First Reading)

Notice having been given:

Bill 12 Preserving Canada's Economic Prosperity Act — Hon. Ms McCuaig-Boyd

Tabling Returns and Reports

Mr. Hanson, Hon. Member for Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills:

Letter dated March 15, 2018, from Lisa-Marie Weder, President, Student Transportation Association of Alberta, to Hon. Ms Notley, Premier, requesting an opportunity to speak with a senior person from the Premier's office concerning the safe transportation of students

Sessional Paper 88/2018

Mr. Nixon, Official Opposition House Leader, on behalf of Hon. Mr. Kenney, Hon. Leader of the Official Opposition:

Report dated December 2017, entitled "Investing in the Future: Facilities," prepared by the Calgary Board of Education, relating to comments made by Hon. Mr. Kenney during Oral Question Period on April 16, 2018

Sessional Paper 89/2018

Reuters website article dated April 16, 2018, entitled "Alberta seeks to cut oil to British Columbia in Canada pipeline row," relating to comments made by Hon. Mr. Kenney during Oral Question Period on April 16, 2018

Sessional Paper 90/2018

Hon. Ms Ganley, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General:

Document, undated, entitled "Joint statement from Canadian civilian oversight agencies on release of names (2015)," relating to comments made by Hon. Ms Ganley during Oral Question Period on April 16, 2018

Sessional Paper 91/2018

Mr. Panda, Hon. Member for Calgary-Foothills:

Document, undated, entitled "Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations (WSER) – Registry of Transitional Authorizations"

Sessional Paper 92/2018

Map, dated December 12, 2016, of Québec communities who dump raw sewage, as posted on the CBC News website

Sessional Paper 93/2018

2

Tablings to the Clerk

Clerk of the Assembly on behalf of Hon. Ms Gray, Minister of Labour and Minister Responsible for Democratic Renewal, pursuant to the Veterinary Profession Act, cV-2, s6.1(2):

Alberta Veterinary Medical Association, 2017 Annual Report

Sessional Paper 94/2018

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Public Bills and Orders Other Than Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 202 Alberta Taxpayer Protection (Carbon Tax Referendum) Amendment Act, 2018 — Hon. Mr. Kenney

A debate followed.

The question being put, the motion was defeated. With Ms Sweet in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 21

Aheer	Hanson	Panda
Anderson (Highwood)	Hunter	Pitt
Cooper	Kenney	Schneider
Cyr	Loewen	Smith
Drysdale	McIver	Strankman
Gill	Nixon	Taylor
Gotfried	Orr	Yao

Against the motion: 39

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont)	Goehring	McLean
Babcock	Gray	Payne
Carlier	Hinkley	Renaud
Ceci	Hoffman	Rosendahl
Clark	Horne	Schmidt
Connolly	Jansen	Schreiner
Cortes-Vargas	Kazim	Shepherd
Dach	Littlewood	Sigurdson
Dang	Luff	Sucha
Feehan	Malkinson	Swann
Fitzpatrick	Mason	Turner
Fraser	McCuaig-Boyd	Westhead
Ganley	McKitrick	Woollard

Mr. Nixon, Official Opposition House Leader, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute.

Motions Other Than Government Motions

501. Moved by Mr. W. Anderson:

Be it resolved that the Standing Orders of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta be amended by renumbering Standing Order 52.04 as Standing Order 52.04(1) and by adding the following after suborder (1):

(2) Suborder (1) does not prevent a Legislative Policy Committee from undertaking a hearing or inquiry during the same period of time that a matter stands referred to the Committee by the Assembly if the hearing or inquiry does not interfere with the work of the Committee on the matter referred to it.

Debate continued on the amendment introduced by Ms Fitzpatrick, Hon. Member for Lethbridge-East, on March 19, 2018, that the motion be amended by adding the following after "Be it resolved":

that the following proposed amendment to the Standing Orders of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta be referred to the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing for review and that the Committee submit its report to the Assembly on or before June 19th, 2018:

The question being put, the amendment was agreed to. With Ms Sweet in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

4

For the amendment: 35

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont)	Hinkley	Payne
Babcock	Hoffman	Renaud
Carlier	Horne	Rosendahl
Connolly	Jansen	Schmidt
Cortes-Vargas	Kazim	Schreiner
Dach	Littlewood	Shepherd
Dang	Luff	Sigurdson
Feehan	Malkinson	Sucha
Fitzpatrick	Mason	Turner
Ganley	McCuaig-Boyd	Westhead
Goehring	McKitrick	Woollard
Gray	McLean	

Against the amendment: 22

Aheer	Gotfried	Panda
Anderson (Highwood)	Hanson	Pitt
Clark	Hunter	Schneider
Cooper	Kenney	Smith
Cyr	Loewen	Strankman
Drysdale	McIver	Swann
Fraser	Nixon	Yao
Gill		

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Mason, Government House Leader, and pursuant to the Budget 2018 Main Estimates Schedule, the Assembly adjourned at 5:28 p.m. until Tuesday, April 17, 2018, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Robert E. Wanner, Speaker

Title: Monday, April 16, 2018

5